My New Favorite Thing

I have a new favorite thing. It is kind of fantastic.  Over the past few years I have tried out many websites that allow a person to enter and search for recipes, save them, create a meal plan and then transfer ingredients automatically to a printable shopping list.  Each website I tried had some glitch and most were too complicated for my taste. I wanted a web site where I could easily enter information, easily enter recipes from the web, easily enter my own recipes from home, create a meal plan and a shopping list and then not think about what to have for dinner. Ever. Again!  (Okay, well, maybe not EVER again, but at least for a week or two at a time.) Feeding a family of four takes some planning, and I find that if I have a plan and a list, I can save money and utilize our pantry staples better than if I just “wing it”. So, I have been searching. And I am happy to say, the search is over!

Intorducing ZipList.com! I came across it one day when I was trying to save a recipe and decided to give it a try. I love ZipList for a  few major reasons:

  • ZipList Recipe Clipper. The website has a button that you can install on your toolbar (works on Ipad, too!) and whenever you are on a website with a recipe you want to save, just click it, and it will automatically download all of the recipe information for you. No copying and pasting needed! It also saves the original website, so you can go back and check it anytime you like. For more information on how to download the ZipList Recipe Clipper, click here.
  • Recipes. I like the way the recipe “book” is formatted-recipes show up in picture form, sort of like Pinterest, and you can tag them to easily find what you are looking for. I have tags for: main dish,  slow cooker, chicken, ground turkey, etc.
  • Meal Planner. From your recipes, click on Add to Meal Plan and from there you can easily add the meals you picked to the built in calendar for the coming week. Or month. Or year.  Hmmmmm… There is a way to import recipes to Google Calendar-I’m not familiar with that, but if you use Google Calendar it might come in handy!
  • Shopping list. There is an option to add all of the recipes from your meal planner to the shopping list, which is really convenient when planning for a long stretch of time.  And later you can review the list and delete things you already have in your pantry. The most exciting part for me, however, is that you can enter your zip code to generate a list of grocery stores in your area, and the website will find deals that match the items on your list! Pretty cool!

So there you have it! I really am enjoying this website. When I have free time, I “Clip” all of the recipes I want to try and later can add them to my meal  plan. This works great with Pinterest, as I can just click and add.  Want to see it in action?

  • Make sure you install the ZipList Recipe Clipper and find an online recipe you would like to save.  This is a recipe for Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta that I found on Pinterest.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta

  • Click on your ZipList Recipe Clipper icon. Mine is on the top left corner of my screen.

Ziplist icon

Isn’t it cute?

  • A window will pop up which will say “Verifying Freshness” , then your recipe will appear in the window, like this. Click “Add to Recipe Box” and you are all set!

Ziplist window

  • Here is a picture of the recipe in my recipe box. Those caramel rolls sure look yummy!  In this picture you can see the options for Meal Planner, Grocery lists, and so on.

Recipe Box

Give it a try for yourself and let me know what you think.  There is also an app you can use, but I prefer the website.

I was not paid for this information-this entire post is my opinion only.

~Chelsey

Leave a Reply

