Excersizing in the tundra.

Ok.  That title might be a SLIGHT exaggeration.  Sometimes, it is not.

So I have taken up running when its’ nice out.  Which is exactly 2.453453 minutes of each year here. Here’s another piece of info.  I HAAAAAAAAAATE running.  I’m slow.  (because I dont run???) It hurts (because I dont run???) and I am sure I look like this:

Ouch.  Ok I kid.  THIS is me:

Perfect.

Ok so here’s how I combat those emotions, because sure I’d love to lose some weight, but more importantly for me is to be HEALTHY.  And running is very good for that- increase lung capacity, muscle usage, getting outside for fresh (or frozen) air. I use a couch-to-5k app on my cell phone.  It gives me weekly challenges to run 3xs per week, and increases it slow enough that I feel successful (instead of impossible standards). I have just used free ones that look good:C25K is a nice app.  It has a free and a pay one.  So far I haven’t needed to upgrade.  How it works: You pick your week/day you are on, and it verbally tells you to walk as a warm up, when to run and so on.  Very useful to me.  I also then blast the Pandora app to some energetic music and I find more success.  My goal is to run a 5k I have coming up in April (Fitger’s 5k) in 40 mins or less.  It is a good goal, but still one I definitely need to work at.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Here’s a few more funnies.  Because if we can’t laugh at ourselves, others will.

Ok.  I’m done.  That was wayyyyyyyyyyyyyy to much fun to google.  (Running-someecards…. warning-some slip in there that are way naughty.

Leave a comment