The one where life took control.

So here’s a phrase we use daily…hourly? “I’m soooooooooooooo busy”.

It’s not a lie, or a falsehood or a misrepresentation of our days.  But I’ve noticed it’s become a competition.  Like- who can be the busiest.  Why?!?? 

Lately over the weekends especially, I have taken to completely ignoring my cell phone.  Meaning I’ll check it just once.  Of course, I haven’t really gone all the way and turn my phone off, but keeping it in a room that I seldom frequent is very useful.  It may seem silly for something so small, but I find it gives me quite a bit (sadly) of extra time. 

One thing people like to share with me is that “You’ll have no free time when you have kids”.  Or some variation of that sentence.  I do NOT doubt them at all.  But the implication is that I have oodles of free time now.  Which I do not.  It is spent far more selfishly.  Which is how that sentence should go.  “You’ll not be able to choose what to keep yourself busy with.” As a non-parent, this feels more accurate from my perspective.  Feel free to slam me with opposing comments— or I love being correct- you can agree with me too 🙂

So, what do I selfishly spend my time doing? All sorts of things.  Sewing, friend time, husband time, tv, reading, cleaning, laundry, etc etc etc.  That’s not the point.  The point is to try to eliminate a few things from my life to make it less busy and more specifically good.  Slowing down is OK.  There. I said it.  You don’t have to do it ALL. I know, I know, miss-bossy-pants-has-it-easy-doesn’t-understand-my-life.

Yep.

Again, you are probably right.  But for me, I figure if I can learn how to say no to a few things once and while, someday when I have a family, I’ll have created a habit to say no (once and while I’m sure) to the busyness and just enjoy the moment.  (Sometimes, I ignore that pile of laundry or that pile of dishes…husband time is rare during tax season, and so I cherish those moments when we have them.  I will always have dishes.  But I may not have that half hour of enjoying him.)

Leave a Reply

