Who is in the Driver’s Seat?

Whew. My small group just started a new Bible Study. It is Beth Moore’s The Inheritance.

Doesn’t the castle in this picture look like Downton Abbey?

untitled (2)

 Picture courtesy of  www.timberlinewomen.org

Beth does such a great job of bringing the Bible to life for me.  Although Beth is the one standing there teaching, it is God speaking through her.  How do I know this? Well, it is no coincidence when the sermon series at our church, the passages I read in my daily devotions, the book I’m reading before bed and Beth’s teachings all line up. Absolutely. No. Coincidence. God is teaching me something. And I love that He uses so many ways to get my attention, and confirm in my spirit His truths. So, what is it exactly He is trying to teach me this time? Well, I’m not completely sure yet, but I do know that the issue of “control” has come up several times.  I like to be in control. I like to be in the driver’s seat; I like to make the schedule; I like to be the one to make the final decision; I like to be the one in charge.  Then I wonder why my life seems kind of boring. Or why I can’t get a handle on all of the “things” I have assigned to myself. When I hear that quiet, gentle voice whispering, “It’s because I didn’t design you that way,” I pretend to be shocked. What? God didn’t design me to be in charge?  Well, of course not! He designed me to be His child, to be an heiress right alongside Jesus, His only son! He adopted me as His daughter and longs to lavish me with all of the riches He has stored up for me. But I have to let go and let Him guide my every step.  He knows my past, He knows my future, and He has a plan greater than anything I could ever plan for myself. So why is it so hard to let go?  Because I’m human.  But, I am and will forever be a student and child of the King, and I know He will teach me how to let go and allow Him to be my every breath.

Beth told us today, “It’s only a wild ride if someone else is driving.” (The Inheritance DVD, session 1.)  So, I’ll leave you with the same question I am thinking about today. Do I want the life God has planned for me, or my own boring version?

~Chelsey

Leave a Reply

