Pinterest Tuesday: Christmas Card Books

I love Christmas cards. Love creating them, sending them (even writing out addresses), getting them and displaying them through the Christmas season.  It is always sad when I take down the Christmas decorations, and throw the cards into a pile to be sorted at a later date.  I used to display them on my fridge, but the space has been over taken by paintings, school notes, and coupons.

Last year, when I started using Pinterest, one of the very first ideas I pinned was making a book out of old Christmas cards.  I was so excited! Did I actually try it? No. And so my cards sat in yet another pile of papers, dangerously close to being thrown into the garbage.

This year, I was determined to make things different. I had a plan.

Using Pinterest, I found a tutorial to make the books here .

I did mine slightly different; first of all, I didn’t have any of the metal rings so I improvised and used ribbon.  I also laminated the covers, mostly because my sister bought me a laminator for Christmas and I am so excited to use it!

First, gather supplies. You will need a hole punch, scissors, cover (whatever you decide), ribbon or rings, and of course, Christmas cards!

IMG_1840

The first cover I made, which was for our 2012 Christmas cards, I drew myself and let the girls color it.  The second one, which was for our 2011 cards that I dug out of the paper pile, I made using Microsoft Word on our computer and printed out.

I laminated the cover.

IMG_1841 IMG_1842

Then decided where I wanted my holes to be. I adjusted my hole punch and punched the cover and all of the cards. After that, I threaded my ribbon through the whole thing on the sides, tied it in a bow and ta da! A Christmas card book!

IMG_1844 IMG_1845

What a great way to keep and display your Christmas cards year after year! We are going to take our cards one step further; going in order we will pick a card and pray for the family before bed every night.  It is a fun, simple way to keep our family and friends covered in prayer.

If you make a Christmas card book, let me know! I’d love to see a picture or hear how you made yours!

~Chelsey

Leave a Reply

