Pinterest Tuesday: Taco Seasoning!

The chicken was cooking on the stove, homemade tortilla chips were in the oven. I reached into my cupboard for the taco seasoning, only to find an empty space. Uh-oh. I searched every nook and cranny of the cupboard for a hidden packet of taco seasoning only to come out empty handed. What was I going to do? Dinner was ruined! Without taco seasoning my chicken nachos wouldn’t be very nacho-y. Could I turn it into something else? Start over with something completely new? I was in a pickle. Then, I suddenly remembered a recipe for homemade taco seasoning I had pinned on Pinterest.  Did I have the right ingredients? Would it taste good? I decided to try it out-I had to save dinner!

After looking at my Favorite Recipes board on Pinterest, I came across this pin.

homemade taco seasoning Homemade Taco Seasoning

Picture courtesy of http://www.5dollardinners.com/homemade-taco-seasoning/

Well, it looked promising! I rummaged around for the ingredients and discovered I had them all! (That NEVER happens, by the way.)

IMG_1873

1 T chili powder, 1 T ground cumin, 1 T garlic powder, 1 T onion powder, 1/4–½ T crushed red pepper. Mix it all together. It is that easy!

IMG_1878

I threw 1/8 cup seasoning in with my chicken along with 2/3 cup water, and continued on with my recipe.  And you know what? Our chicken nachos were excellent! They were slightly spicier than we usually make them, probably because of the red pepper flakes, but everything else tasted just like the taco seasoning I usually buy in bulk from Sam’s Club.  Guess who won’t be making that purchase again? ME!!!

Want to try it for yourself? Use the links above and check out the original recipe. Be a kitchen hero!

~Chelsey

Leave a Reply

